R. Todd Bennett, P.C. Board Certified, Criminal Law. Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
Bar Register Preeminent Lawyers
Board Ceritified by Texas Board of Legal Specialization in Criminal Law
The Best Lawyers In America
AV Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell For Ethical Standards and Legal Ability
Rated by Super Lawyers R. Todd Bennett, selected in 2005. Thomson Reuters.
Banner Attr

If You Face Charges For DWI-Related Offenses

I am R. Todd Bennett — a board-certified criminal defense lawyer. I have practiced criminal law in Houston and the surrounding communities for 18 years. If you are charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter you need to understand what the charges are, as described below.

Intoxication Assault

Intoxication assault is the charge when the person is accused of driving while intoxicated (DWI) and the person causes serious bodily injury to another person — bodily injury that creates a substantial risk of death or that causes death, serious permanent disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.

Intoxicated assault is a third (3rd) degree felony in Texas and has a statutory punishment range of two years in state prison to 10 years in state prison. If convicted, probation is within the range of punishment, but as with third DWI convictions, the conditions of probation can be onerous.

Intoxication Manslaughter

A person charged with intoxication manslaughter is accused of driving while intoxicated and thereby causing the death of another person. These cases are tragic and obviously extremely serious. The prosecutors in these cases in Houston (Harris County), Rosenberg (Ft. Bend County), Conroe (Montgomery County) Galveston (Galveston County) and the surrounding counties zealously prosecute these cases. While probation is often within the range of punishment, the prosecutors rarely offer probation; instead they push the judges and juries for a prison sentence.

The range of punishment for intoxication manslaughter cases is from two years in state prison up to 20 years in state prison and up to a $10,000 fine. A judge imposing a sentence of probation for intoxication manslaughter is required by Texas law to impose 120 – 180 days in the county jail as a condition of the probation. Community service ranges from 240 – 800 hours.

Protecting Clients With Drunk Driving-Related Charges

Intoxicated assault and intoxicated manslaughter are extremely serious charges. If you are interested in having me on your side, contact me by email or by phone at 713-489-7763  today to schedule an initial appointment.