Texas residents may think a DWI is the only kind of crime related to alcohol. This substance can play a role in other charges, though. At R. Todd Bennett, P.C., I know it is important for you to understand the kinds of charges associated with intoxication.
Driving while intoxicated can have serious consequences. If your vehicle collides with another vehicle or a pedestrian, you may be charged with intoxication manslaughter if someone dies. Additionally, you might face a charge of intoxication assault if someone incurs a serious bodily injury after being struck with your car. This kind of injury does not just refer to one that is severe. Typically, a serious bodily injury is one that could result in a person’s death.
The penalties for these charges can be steep. If you are convicted of intoxication assault, you may be imprisoned for at least two years and it may sometimes be difficult to gain probation. This is because Texas law considers intoxication assault to be a third degree felony. A conviction of intoxication manslaughter can bring both a fine and a prison sentence. You may be required to pay a $10,000 fine, as well as be imprisoned for up to 20 years. Sometimes you may also need to perform between 240 and 800 hours of community service.
If you are charged with intoxicated manslaughter, your charge might fall into one of two categories. According to FindLaw, a charge of gross negligence means that you may have been driving in the wrong lane or driven over the sidewalk. If you are charged with ordinary negligence, you may have been observing most driving laws but hit a car or pedestrian while looking at your phone or running a red light. More information about this subject can be found on our webpage.