You may have spent years climbing the corporate ladder and have seen significant financial success along the way. However, you are not immune from prosecution for crimes allegedly committed, including the possession of marijuana.
It may have been a one-time mistake or maybe you didn’t think marijuana possession was a big deal. However, federal law and Texas law take a strict stance against the possession of marijuana.
In Texas, possessing even anything under two ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor. The penalties for this include up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine.
The more marijuana in your possession, the more serious the crime and corresponding penalties. Possessing two to four ounces of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor. Possessing four ounces to five pounds of marijuana is a state jail felony. Possessing five to 50 pounds of marijuana is a 3rd degree felony. Possessing 50 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana is a 2nd degree felony. Finally, possessing more than 2,000 pounds of marijuana can lead to a life sentence in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution, along with a $50,000 fine.
As this shows, although marijuana possession may be decriminalized or even legalized in some states, Texas is not one of them. Moreover, marijuana possession is against federal law. If you have been charged with marijuana possession in Texas, you will want to take the steps necessary not only to defend yourself against the charges you face. Doing so is important and can be a way to preserve your personal and professional reputation if the charges are dropped.