Violence is an unlawful exercise in every state in America, and can stem from a number of complex situations. Violence often does not stem from any particular cause, and such dangerous behavior in the home can be an even more frightening matter. Thousands of Texas residents report domestic violence each year. Officials encourage victims of domestic violence to report any incident that occurs, and to go forward with legal processes that can protect them and other family members.
The Harris County official website provides a document that describes the types of legal routes victims of domestic violence may choose to take. An individual may seek a Peace Bond if someone has threatened to harm them or their property, and the bond can force the person making threats to deposit money with the court. This money can indefinitely remain with the court if the person who made the threat commits the threatened crime. The following are additional types of orders an individual may seek when experiencing domestic violence:
- Temporary Restraining Order: This order can take place if an individual already has a lawsuit filed, and if the individual requests that the court orders the other party not to harm the individual
- Protective Order: An order wherein an individual has been harmed by a family member or someone he or she dated, and the individual fears the other party may harm them again
- Temporary Ex-Parte Protective Order: An order that the court can file if officials believe an individual is in danger
- Emergency Protective Order: An order that the Municipal Court can file after an abuser is arrested, and is enforced when an individual violates the order
Findlaw offers further information on protective orders. According to Findlaw, Texas protective order laws allow for temporary orders, which last for 20 days maximum, and general protective orders, which can last up to two years. Also known as restraining orders, general protective orders come with crippling costs if an individual chooses to violate the legal rules within the process. Such penalties include jail time and fines up to $4,000.