Perhaps you have a lucrative job in Houston, a nice home, a nice car and a beautiful family. All these things can be put into jeopardy if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). It is important to understand Texas drunk driving laws, so you can make informed decisions in your defense.
Texas DWI laws
In Texas it is illegal to drive with a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.08%. This is known as DWI “per se” meaning your BAC is enough to show intoxication. However, you can also be charged with DWI if you are too impaired to drive safely, even if your BAC is below the legal limit. In this situation police may rely on observation and field sobriety tests to charge you with DWI.
DWI penalties can affect just about every major aspect of your life. If it is your first DWI you could be fined up to $2,000, which can be a major hit to the pocketbook. You could also be jailed for up to 180 days, possibly leading to job loss and straining your family relationships. You could also lose your driver’s license for up to a year, which can seriously complicate your day-to-day life. These penalties grow more severe when it is your second or subsequent DWI conviction.
Drunk driving defenses
Texas takes a strict stance against drunk driving. Still, there are defenses that may help you avoid conviction. You could call into question the accuracy of the breath test. The instrument may not have been properly calibrated, or the officer performing the test may have done so improperly.
You could also call into question the accuracy of your field sobriety tests. The directions may have been unclear, or the police observations may be inaccurate. In the end, you have the right to fight a DWI in the way that best fits your specific circumstances.