R. Todd Bennett, P.C. Board Certified, Criminal Law. Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
Bar Register Preeminent Lawyers
Board Ceritified by Texas Board of Legal Specialization in Criminal Law
The Best Lawyers In America
AV Preeminent Rating by Martindale-Hubbell For Ethical Standards and Legal Ability
Rated by Super Lawyers R. Todd Bennett, selected in 2005. Thomson Reuters.
Banner Attr

We’re here to help after an arrest for a violent crime

On Behalf of | Aug 4, 2021 | Violent Crimes |

Facing arrest and incarceration is scary. But, facing a violent crime conviction can mean much more than just a loss of freedom. It could mean losing years (possibly, decades) away from friends, family and children. It also means the loss of educational and career opportunities, which can affect one for their entire life.

Experience matters

Criminal attorney, R. Todd Bennett, is a board-certified criminal defense attorney, who has practiced in Houston and Harris County, Texas for nearly two decades. This is why it is so important to call R. Todd Bennett, P.C., as soon as possible after an arrest.

Class A Assault

A Class A assault is a common charge for slapping and pushing incidents. This may seem trivial, but conviction can mean up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine. Essentially, Class A assault means that the state claims that the accused intentionally, knowingly or recklessly caused bodily injury to someone. In Texas, bodily injury simply means pain (i.e., that whatever is alleged hurt the alleged victim). This means that the prosecution does not need to show an injury, only that pain was felt. This means they do not even need o show blood, scratches or red marks.

Aggravated assault

A much more severe charge is aggravated assault with some allegation of serious bodily injury. Here, serious bodily injury is any injury that could cause death, serious permanent disfigurement or a long-term impairment. A conviction on this charge is punishable by up to 20 years in prison, up to a $10,000 fine and is classified as a 2nd degree felony offense.


Of course, these are just two potential charges, but the Texas Penal Code also has defenses. These defenses are in addition to the common law defenses to assault cases. For example, Section 9.31 outlines self defense in Texas. It states that residents have the right to defend ourselves from another person’s use or attempted use of unlawful force against us. Though that force must be reasonable, and this is yet again, where R. Todd Bennett, P.C., can help our Houston, Texas, clients win their case.


FindLaw Network