If you are being charged with a crime of theft in Texas, you may be confused by the terms that law enforcement officers and court officials use. Many people are not aware that there can be both misdemeanors and felonies when it comes to theft. We at R. Todd Bennett not only fight for your rights, but also work to help you understand what these different categories mean.
According to The Texas Politics Project, it is important to realize that the court in which the case is originally tried will play a role in the charges filed. If you are assigned to a district court, your crime is considered a felony. If you are sent to a constitutional county court or Justice of the Peace Court, your charge is a misdemeanor.
Misdemeanor theft is divided into three categories: A, B and C. The lowest level is reserved for property that is worth $20 or less. A Class B misdemeanor is for property between $20 and $500 and Class A is for that which is between $500 and $1,500. The lowest class does not carry any jail time as penalties, but you can get 180 days to one year in prison for Class A or B misdemeanors. Fines for misdemeanors can also range from $500 to $4,000.
Theft can also be considered a felony if you steal property that is worth more than $1,500. Depending on the value of the property, you can be sent to prison for between 180 days and life and charged a fine of $10,000. For more information on this topic, please visit our web page.