713-752-2728

Menu Contact
TRBR. Todd Bennett, P.C.

Board Certified, Criminal Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization

Se Habla Español

Distinguished TM AV Lexis Nexis Martindale Hubbell Peer Review Rated For Ethical Standard And Legal Ability Super Lawyers The Best Lawyers in America Bar Register Preeminent Lawyers Board Certified Texas Board of Legal Specialization
More Practice Areas

Simple Assault Charges in Texas

There is nothing simple about simple assault. If you've been charged with simple assault in Texas, you face potentially serious consequences. Assault seems like such a loaded term, but under Texas law it can mean "intentionally or knowingly" threatening someone with bodily injury, rather than actually touching them. Texas statutes break assault into several categories, with the particular form of assault considered either a misdemeanor or a felony. It is crucial to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible.

Misdemeanor Assault

Simple assault is an A, B or C class misdemeanor under Texas law, but the gravity of the situation depends on the circumstances and who was allegedly assaulted. Simple assault is defined as "intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person," under Texas statutes. While the words "bodily injury" conjures up a fight victim, assault charges may be levied against a person who grabs another's arm or pokes someone in the chest with a finger during an argument. One heated argument with friends, neighbors or a spouse can end up in an assault arrest if the police are called. Such situations are usually Class C misdemeanors, unless the alleged victim is a disabled or elderly person, in which it brings Class A charges. Domestic assault charges are Class A misdemeanors - if the accused does not have a prior conviction. If the incident occurred at a sporting event and/or involved a sporting official, it is a Class B charge.

If convicted, simple "A" misdemeanor assault charges may result in up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000. A Class B misdemeanor conviction can bring up to six months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000, while a Class C misdemeanor conviction may result in a fine of up to $500.

Misdemeanor Becomes Felony Assault

In Texas, charges that in other circumstances are misdemeanors can become felony assault charges. That's the case if a person accused of domestic assault has a previous domestic violence conviction, or the accused allegedly assaulted someone known to them as a public official, security guard or emergency services worker while they were on the job. In these situations, a prosecutor may bring third-degree felony charges, which can result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years and/or up to a $10,000 fine.

Contact an Attorney

If you or a loved one is charged with assault, you need the services of a skilled criminal defense attorney. R. Todd Bennett is board-certified Texas criminal law attorney, who has successfully defended hundreds of people charged with assault during his distinguished career. Contact our law firm today for a free consultation.

Source: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/PE/htm/PE.22.htm

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Office Location

R. Todd Bennett, P.C.
1545 Heights Blvd. Suite 600
Houston, TX 77008

Phone: 713-752-2728 | Fax: 713-650-1602
Houston Law Office Map

Gain Insight From A Board certified Texas criminal law Attorney

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.